‘Compton A Soundtrack’: Dr. Dre’s Final Opus

While it looks like we’ll never see Detox after all, the richest man in hip-hop appears to be leaving the rap game in style.

This Friday, Dr. Dre’s self-proclaimed “final rap album” — Compton A Soundtrack — will drop exclusively on Apple Music and iTunes. The album, featuring a myriad of guests like Kendrick Lamar, Eminem, and Ice Cube, is music inspired by & featured in the upcoming NWA biopic Straight Outta Compton, which hits theaters on August 14th.

Dre made the announcement on his Beats1 Radio show ‘The Pharmacy’ on Saturday, following rumors earlier in the week — started by Ice Cube himself — that the doctor would drop an album this weekend.

Dr. Dre also took some time to explain to fans why his long-awaited Detox never saw the light of day, despite two singles (‘Kush’ and ‘I Need a Doctor’) being released in the past few years. Thought unexpected to hear from an artist, Dre said that Detox didn’t come out because, in his words, “I didn’t like it”. Dre went on to say, “I worked my ass off on it, but I didn’t think I did a good enough job. I couldn’t do that to my fans, I couldn’t do that to myself to be honest.”

Like Dre’s previous classics — The Chronic and 2001 — Compton A Soundtrack is more a collaboration LP than a solo joint. Check out the official tracklist below:

1) Intro
2) Talk About It (feat. King Mez & Justus)
3) Genocide (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
4) It’s All On Me (feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)
5) All In a Day’s Work (feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
6) Darkside/Gone (feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
7) Loose Cannons (feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
8) Issues (feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
9) Deep Water (feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10) Jon Connor – One Shot One Kill (feat. Snoop Dogg)
11) The Game – Just Another Day (feat. Asia Bryant)
12) For the Love of Money (feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13) Satisfaction (feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14) Animals (feat. Anderson Paak)
15) Medicine Man (feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16) Talking To My Diary

Compton A Soundtrack will be available on August 7th, though fans can pre-order today here.

One Pingback/Trackback